Salk Cancer Center


Salk Institute for Biological Studies - Salk Cancer Center - Leadership

Cancer Center Leadership

Senior Leadership


Reuben Shaw

Molecular and Cell Biology Laboratory
William R. Brody Chair

Deputy Director, Research

Susan Kaech

Professor and Director
NOMIS Center for Immunobiology and Microbial Pathogenesis

Deputy Director, Translation

Ronald Evans

Professor and Director
Gene Expression Laboratory
March of Dimes Chair in Molecular and Developmental Biology

Deputy Director, Education & Training

Geoffrey Wahl

Gene Expression Laboratory

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion

Dmitry Lyumkis

Assistant Professor
Laboratory of Genetics
Hearst Foundation Developmental Chair

Deputy Director, Shared Resources

Gerald Shadel

Molecular and Cell Biology Laboratory
Audrey Geisel Chair in Biomedical Science
Director, San Diego-Nathan Shock Center of Excellence in the Basic Biology of Aging

Senior Advisor to the Director

Tony Hunter

American Cancer Society Professor
Molecular and Cell Biology Laboratory
Renato Dulbecco Chair

Deputy Director, Research Administration

Leona Flores

Leona Flores


Genome Stability, Epigenetics & Aging in Cancer Program

Program Leaders

Diana Hargreaves

Associate Professor
Molecular and Cell Biology Laboratory
Richard Heyman and Anne Daigle Endowed Developmental Chair

Jan Karlseder

Molecular and Cell Biology Laboratory
Donald and Darlene Shiley Chair

Tumor Immunology, Metabolism & Therapeutics Program

Program Leaders

Janelle Ayres

Professor and Laboratory Head
Gene Expression Laboratory
Molecular and Systems Physiology Laboratory
NOMIS Center for Immunobiology and Microbial Pathogenesis
Salk Institute Legacy Chair

Christian Metallo

Molecular and Cell Biology Laboratory
Daniel and Martina Lewis Chair

Executive Committee

Executive Director, Grants Development – Kurt Marek, PhD
Executive Director, Research Operations – Julie Auger
Senior Director, Technology Development – Ha Nguyen, PhD
VP, External Relations – Bryan Robinson, PhD
Chief Scientific Officer (ex officio) – Gerald Joyce, MD, PhD
Assistant Director, Administration – Faye McDonald
Administrative Assistant to the Director – Sara Campbell

External Advisory Board

David Tuveson, MD, PhD, Chair
Director, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Cancer Center
Professor, Roy J. Zuckerberg Professor of Cancer Research

Steven Artandi, MD, PhD
Director, Stanford Cancer Institute
Jerome and Daisy Low Gilbert Professor of Medicine and Biochemistry

Kornelia Polyak, MD, PhD
Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Co-leader, Dana-Farber Harvard Cancer Center Cancer Cell Biology Program

Robert Schreiber, PhD
AM Bursky & JM Bursky Distinguished Professor, Pathology & Immunology
Director, Center for Human Immunology and Immunotherapy Programs
Program Leader, Tumor Immunology, Siteman Cancer Center
Washington University School of Medicine

Laura J. van’t Veer, PhD
Leader, Breast Oncology Program, and Director, Applied Genomics
Angela and Shu Kai Chan Endowed Chair in Cancer Research
UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center

Matt Vander Heiden, MD, PhD
Director, Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research at MIT
Associate Professor of Biology
Member, MIT Center for Precision Cancer Medicine
Member, Ludwig Center for Molecular Oncology

Chad A. Ellis, PhD
Deputy Director, Research Administration
Hillman Cancer Center
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center