Greg Lemke


Molecular Neurobiology Laboratory

Fran├žoise Gilot-Salk Chair

Greg Lemke
Salk Institute for Biological Studies - Publications


Vacik, T., Stubbs, J. L., and Lemke, G. (2011) A novel mechanism for the transcriptional regulation of Wnt signaling in development. Genes and Development 25: in press.

Bevins, N., Lemke, G., and Reber, R. (2011) Genetic dissection of EphA receptor signaling dynamics during retinotopic mapping. J. Neurosci. 31: 10302-10310.

Burstyn-Cohen, T., Heeb, M. J., and Lemke, G. (2009) Lack of Protein S in mice causes embryonic lethal coagulopathy and vascular dysgenesis. J. Clin. Invest. 119: 2942-2953.

Lemke, G. and Rothlin, C.V. (2008) Immunobiology of the TAM receptors. Nature Reviews Immunology 8: 327-336.

Rothlin, C.V., Ghosh, S., Zuniga, E., Oldstone, M.B.A., and Lemke, G. (2007) TAM receptors are pleiotropic inhibitors of the innate immune response. Cell 131: 1124-1136.

Mui, S., Kim, J. W., Lemke, G., and Bertuzzi, S. (2005) Vax genes ventralize the embryonic eye. Genes and DevelopmentNature 431:847-853.

Lu, Q. and Lemke, G. (2001) Homeostatic regulation of the immune system by receptor tyrosine kinases of the Tyro 3 family. Science 293: 306-311.

Brown, A., Yates, P.A., Burrola, P., Ortuno, D., Vaidya, A., Jessell, T.M., Pfaff, S.L., O'Leary, D.D. and Lemke G. (2000) Topographic mapping from the retina to the midbrain is controlled by relative but not absolute levels of EphA receptor signaling. Cell 102:77-88.

Lu, Q., Gore, M., Zhang, Q., Camenisch, T., Boast, S., Casagrande, F., Lai, C. Skinner, M., Klein, R., Matsushima, G.K., Earp, H.S., Goff, S. P. and Lemke, G. (1999) Receptor tyrosine kinases of the Tyro 3 family are essential regulators of mammalian spermatogenesis. Nature 398:723-728.


BS, Life Sciences, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
PhD, Biology, California Institute of Technology
Postdoctoral Fellowship, Columbia University

Awards & Honors

  • 2008 AAAS Fellow
  • 1994 Javits Neuroscience Investigator Award
  • 1990 Rita Allen Scholars award
  • 1986 Pew Scholar Award
  • 1987 Basil O'Connor Starter Scholar Award, March of Dimes