Martyn Goulding


Molecular Neurobiology Laboratory

Frederick W. and Joanna J. Mitchell Chair

Salk Institute for Biological Studies - Publications


Gross, M.K., Moran-Rivard, L., Velasquez, T., Nakatsu, M.N., Jagla, K., and Goulding, M.D. (2000). Lbx1 is required for muscle precursor migration along a lateral pathway into the limb. Development 127, 413-424.

Moran-Rivard, L., Kagawa, T., Saueressig, H., Gross, M.K., Burrill, J., and Goulding, M.D. (2001). Evx1 is a postmitotic determinant of V0 interneuron identity in the spinal cord. Neuron 29, 385-399.

Dottori, M., Gross, M.K., Labosky, P., and Goulding, M.D. (2001). The winged-helix transcription factor Foxd3 suppresses interneuron differentiation and promotes neural crest cell fate. Development 128, 4127-4138.

Gross, M.K., Dottori, M., and Goulding, M.D. (2002). Lbx1 specifies somatosensory association interneurons in the dorsal spinal cord. Neuron 34, 535-549.

Sapir, T., Geiman, E.J., Wang, Z., Velasquez, T., Mitsui, S., Yoshihara, Y., Frank, E., Alvarez, F.J., and Goulding, M. (2004). Pax6 and Engrailed 1 regulate two distinct aspects of Renshaw cell development. J. Neurosci. 24, 1255-1264.

Cheng, L., Arata, A., Mizuguchi, R., Qian, Y., Karunaratne, A., Gray, P.A., Arata, S., Shirasawa, S., Bouchard, M., Luo, P., Chen, C.L., Busslinger, M., Goulding, M., Onimaru, H., and Ma, Q. (2004). Tlx3 and Tlx1 are post-mitotic selector genes determining glutamatergic over GABAergic cell fates. Nat. Neurosci. 7, 510-517.

Lanuza, G.M., Gosgnach, S., Pierani, A., Jessell, T.M., and Goulding, M. (2004). Genetic identification of spinal interneurons that coordinate left-right locomotor activity necessary for walking movements. Neuron 42, 375-386.

Goulding, M., and Pfaff, S.L. (2005). Development of circuits that generate simple rhythmic behaviors in vertebrates. Curr. Opin. Neurobiol. 15, 14-20.

Kriks, S., Lanuza, G.M., Mizuguchi, R., Nakafuku, M., Goulding, M. (2005). Gsh2 is required for the repression of Ngn1 and specification of dorsal interneuron fate in the spinal cord. Development 132, 2991-3002.

Gosgnach, S., Lanuza, G.M., Butt, S.J., Saueressig, H., Zhang, Y., Velasquez, T., Riethmacher, D., Callaway, E.M., Kiehn, O., Goulding, M. (2006). V1 spinal neurons regulate the speed of vertebrate locomotor outputs. Nature 440, 215-219.

Mizuguchi, R., Kriks, S., Cordes, R., Gossler, A., Ma, Q., and Goulding, M. (2006). Ascl1 and Gsh1/2 control inhibitory and excitatory cell fate in spinal sensory interneurons. Nat. Neurosci. 9, 770-778.

Zhang, Y., Narayan, S., Geiman, E., Lanuza, G.M., Velasquez, T., Shanks, B., Akay, T., Dyck, J., Pearson, K., Gosgnach, S., Fan, C.M., and Goulding, M. (2008). V3 spinal neurons establish a robust and balanced locomotor rhythm during walking. Neuron 60, 84-96.

Goulding, M. (2009). Circuits controlling vertebrate locomotion: moving in a new direction. Nat Rev Neurosci. 10, 507-518.

Stam, F.J., Hendricks, T.J., Zhang, J., Geiman, E.J., Francius, C., Labosky, P.A., Clotman, F., Goulding, M. (2012) Renshaw cell interneuron specialization is controlled by a temporally restricted transcription factor program. Development 139, 179-190.

Zhang, J., Lanuza, G.M., Britz, O., Wang, Z., Siembab, V., Zhang, Y., Velasquez, T., Alvarez, F.A., Frank, E. and Goulding, M. (2014) V1 and V2b interneurons secure the alternating flexor-extensor motor activity mice require for limbed locomotion. Neuron, 82, 138-150.

Cargagno, A.L., di Bella, D.J., Goulding, M., Guillemot, F. and Lanuza, G.M. (2014) Neurogenin3 restricts serotonergic neuron differentiation to the hindbrain. J. Neurosci. 34, 15223-15233.

Duan, B., Cheng, L., Bourane, S., Britz, O., Padilla, C., Garcia-Campmany, L., Krashes, M., Knowlton, W., Velasquez, T., Ren, X., Ross, S., Lowell, B.B., Wang, Y., Goulding, M. and Ma, Q. (2014) Identification of spinal circuits transmitting and gating mechanical pain. Cell 159, 1417-1432.

Bourane, S., Grossmann, K.S., Britz, O., Dalet, A., Garcia del Barrio, M., Stam, F.J., Garcia-Campmany, L., Koch, S. and Goulding, M. (2015) Identification of a circuit for light touch and fine motor control. Cell 160, 503-515


Cell biology, University of Auckland, New Zealand
PhD, Cellular and Molecular Biology, University of Auckland
Postdoctoral Fellow, Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry

Awards & Honors

  • 2006 Jacob Javits Neuroscience Investigator Award
  • 1994-1998 Pew Scholar
  • 1993-1995 Basil O'Connor Research Award