Eiman Azim

Assistant Professor

Molecular Neurobiology Laboratory

Salk Institute for Biological Studies - Publications

all Publications


Tuthill, J.C., Azim, E. Proprioception. (2018) Curr. Biol. 28(5):R194-R203. DOI: 10.1016/j.cub.2018.01.064

+ expand abstract


Kishi, N., MacDonald, J.L., Ye, J., Molyneaux, B.J., Azim, E., Macklis, J.D. Reduction of aberrant NF-κB signalling ameliorates Rett syndrome phenotypes in Mecp2-null mice. (2016) Nat Commun. 7:10520. DOI: 10.1038/ncomms10520

+ expand abstract


Azim, E., Alstermark, B. Skilled forelimb movements and internal copy motor circuits. (2015) Curr. Opin. Neurobiol. 33:16-24. DOI: 10.1016/j.conb.2014.12.009

+ expand abstract

Jiang, J., Azim, E., Ekerot, C.F., Alstermark, B. Direct and indirect spino-cerebellar pathways: shared ideas but different functions in motor control. (2015) Front Comput Neurosci. 9:75. DOI: 10.3389/fncom.2015.00075

+ expand abstract


Azim, E. Neuroscience. Shortcuts and checkpoints on the road to skilled movement. (2014) Science. 346(6209):554-5. DOI: 10.1126/science.1260778

Fink, A.J., Croce, K.R., Huang, Z.J., Abbott, L.F., Jessell, T.M., Azim, E. Presynaptic inhibition of spinal sensory feedback ensures smooth movement. (2014) Nature. 509(7498):43-8. DOI: 10.1038/nature13276

+ expand abstract

Azim, E., Jiang, J., Alstermark, B., Jessell, T.M. Skilled reaching relies on a V2a propriospinal internal copy circuit. (2014) Nature. 508(7496):357-63. DOI: 10.1038/nature13021

+ expand abstract


Cederquist, G.Y., Azim, E., Shnider, S.J., Padmanabhan, H., Macklis, J.D. Lmo4 establishes rostral motor cortex projection neuron subtype diversity. (2013) J. Neurosci. 33(15):6321-32. DOI: 10.1523/JNEUROSCI.5140-12.2013

+ expand abstract

Azim, E. Specification of Cortical Projection Neurons: Transcriptional Mechanisms (2013) Patterning and Cell Type Specification in the Developing CNS and PNS Comprehensive Developmental Neuroscience. DOI: https://doi.org/10.1016/B978-0-12-397265-1.00098-8

+ expand abstract


Azim, E., Jabaudon, D., Fame, R.M., Macklis, J.D. SOX6 controls dorsal progenitor identity and interneuron diversity during neocortical development. (2009) Nat. Neurosci. 12(10):1238-47. DOI: 10.1038/nn.2387

+ expand abstract

Azim, E., Shnider, S.J., Cederquist, G.Y., Sohur, U.S., Macklis, J.D. Lmo4 and Clim1 progressively delineate cortical projection neuron subtypes during development. (2009) Cereb. Cortex. 19 Suppl 1:i62-9. DOI: 10.1093/cercor/bhp030

+ expand abstract


Lai, T., Jabaudon, D., Molyneaux, B.J., Azim, E., Arlotta, P., Menezes, J.R., Macklis, J.D. SOX5 controls the sequential generation of distinct corticofugal neuron subtypes. (2008) Neuron. 57(2):232-47. DOI: 10.1016/j.neuron.2007.12.023

+ expand abstract


Azim, E., Mobbs, D., Jo, B., Menon, V., Reiss, A.L. Sex differences in brain activation elicited by humor. (2005) Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. U.S.A. 102(45):16496-501. DOI: 10.1073/pnas.0408456102

+ expand abstract

Mobbs, D., Hagan, C.C., Azim, E., Menon, V., Reiss, A.L. Personality predicts activity in reward and emotional regions associated with humor. (2005) Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. U.S.A. 102(45):16502-6. DOI: 10.1073/pnas.0408457102

+ expand abstract


Mobbs, D., Greicius, M.D., Abddel-Azim, E., Menon, V., Reiss, A.L. Humor modulates the mesolimbic reward centers. (2003) Neuron. 40(5):1041-8.

+ expand abstract


BS, Biology, Stanford University, 2003
BA, Philosophy of Science, Stanford University, 2003
PhD, Neuroscience, Harvard University, 2010
Postdoctoral Fellow, Columbia University Medical Center

Awards & Honors

  • 2018 McKnight Scholar Award
  • 2017 NIH Director’s New Innovator Award (DP2)
  • 2017 Kathryn W. Davis Aging Brain Scholar
  • 2017 Pew Scholar in the Biomedical Sciences
  • 2017 Searle Scholar
  • 2015 Next Generation Leaders Advisory Council: Allen Institute for Brain Science
  • 2014 Eppendorf and Science Prize for Neurobiology
  • 2014 NIH Pathway to Independence Award (K99/R00)
  • 2011 Helen Hay Whitney Foundation: Howard Hughes Medical Institute Postdoctoral Fellow
  • 2010 Krieg Cortical Scholar Award
  • 2008 Albert J. Ryan Fellow