Scientist Directory

Nonresident Fellows

Salk Institute for Biological Studies - Scientist Directory - Nonresident Fellows

Nonresident Fellows

Salk nonresident fellows serve as members of the faculty for renewable six-year terms. Nominated by the president and faculty, these individuals come from world-renowned academic organizations where they have achieved high levels of success in the research areas at the Salk Institute. They visit the Salk each year to help benchmark the Institute by advising on the scientific progress of its faculty and on the effectiveness of its existing and proposed scientific programs. The nonresident fellows also play a key decision-making role in the appointment and promotion of the Salk Institute’s professors.
Click here to view a listing of past and present nonresident fellows»

Lewis C. Cantley, PhD

Professor of Cell Biology
HMS Cell Biology
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Catherine Dulac, PhD

Samuel W. Morris University Professor
Lee and Ezpeleta Professor of Arts and Sciences
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator
Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology
Harvard University

Douglas R. Green, PhD

Member, St. Jude Faculty
Co-leader, Cancer Biology Program
Peter C. Doherty Endowed Chair of Immunology
St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital

Mary Lou Guerinot, PhD

Ronald and Deborah Harris Professor in the Sciences
Department of Biological Sciences
Dartmouth College

Jennifer Lippincott-Schwartz, PhD

Senior Group Leader and Head of Janelia’s 4D Cellular Physiology
Howard Hughes Medical Institute – Janelia Research Campus

Stephen L. Mayo, PhD

Bren Professor of Biology and Chemistry
Merkin Institute Professor

J. Anthony Movshon, PhD

University Professor and Silver Professor
Professor of Neural Science and Psychology
New York University

Carla J. Shatz, PhD

Sapp Family Provostial Professor
Professor of Biology and Neurobiology
Catherine Holman Johnson Director, Stanford Bio-X
Stanford University

Irving L. Weissman, MD

Emeritus Director, Institute for Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine
Director, Stanford Ludwig Center for Cancer Stem Cell Research and Medicine
Professor of Pathology and Developmental Biology, and by courtesy, Biology and Neurological Surgery
Stanford University