Scientist Directory

Non-Resident Fellows

Salk Institute for Biological Studies - Scientist Directory - Non-Resident Fellows

Non-Resident Fellows

Salk non-resident fellows serve as members of the faculty for renewable six-year terms. Nominated by the president and faculty, these individuals come from world-renowned academic organizations where they have achieved high levels of success in the research areas at the Salk Institute. They visit the Salk each year to help benchmark the Institute by advising on the scientific progress of its faculty and on the effectiveness of its existing and proposed scientific programs. The non-resident fellows also play a key decision-making role in the appointment and promotion of the Salk Institute’s professors.

David Baltimore, PhD

Nobel Laureate
President Emeritus
California Institute of Technology

Caroline Dean, PhD

Professor and Project Leader, Department of Cell & Developmental Biology
John Innes Centre

Jack Dixon, PhD

Associate Vice Chancellor, Scientific Affairs
University of California, San Diego

Eric S. Lander, PhD

President and Director, Broad Institute of Harvard and MIT
Professor of Biology, MIT
Professor of Systems Biology, Harvard Medical School

Jennifer Lippincott-Schwartz, PhD

Bethesda, Maryland

J. Anthony Movshon, PhD

University Professor and Silver Professor
Center for Neural Science
New York University

Carla J. Shatz, PhD

Professor of Biology and Neurobiology
Director, BioX at the James Clark Center
Stanford University

Irving L. Weissman, MD

Director, Institute of Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine
Stanford University School of Medicine