Joanne Chory

Professor and Director

Plant Molecular and Cellular Biology Laboratory

Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator

Howard H. and Maryam R. Newman Chair in Plant Biology

Salk Institute for Biological Studies - Videos


Dr Joanne Chory Breakthrough Prize 2018 Winner

Joanne Chory, winner of the 2018 Breakthrough Prize is interviewed on the red carpet before the 2019 Breakthrough Prize ceremony.


bak1 Binding Surface

Cellular damage control system helps plants tough it out

LA JOLLA–As food demands rise to unprecedented levels, farmers are in a race against time to grow plants that can withstand environmental challenges–infestation, climate change and more. Now, new research at the Salk Institute, published in Science on October 23, 2015, reveals details into a fundamental mechanism of how plants manage their energy intake, which could potentially be harnessed to improve yield. Read more »


AB, Biology, Oberlin College, Ohio
PhD, Microbiology, University of Illinois
Postdoctoral Fellow, Harvard Medical School

Awards & Honors

  • 2019 Princess of Asturias Award for Technical & Scientific & Research
  • 2018 Gruber Genetics Prize
  • 2018 Member, National Academy of Inventors
  • 2018 Breakthrough Prize
  • 2015 American Philosophical Society
  • 2013 Danforth Award for Excellence in Plant Science
  • 2012 Genetics Society of America Medal
  • 2011 Foreign Member, Royal Society, London UK
  • 2009 Foreign Associate, Académie des Sciences, France
  • 2008 Member, German National Academy of Sciences
  • 2006 Associate Member, EMBO
  • 2005 Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • 2004 Kumho Award in Plant Molecular Biology
  • 2003 Scientific American 50: Research Leader in Agriculture
  • 2000 L'Oreal-UNESCO Award for Women in Science (N. America)
  • 1999 Member, U.S. National Academy of Sciences
  • 1998 Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • 1997 Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
  • 1995 American Society of Plant Physiologists, Charles Albert Schull Award
  • 1994 National Academy of Sciences Award for Initiatives in Research