Inside Salk; Salk Insitute
Home > News & Press > InsideSalk > 08|15 Issue > Joseph Ecker and Dennis O'Leary elected to American Academy of Arts & Sciences

Joseph Ecker and Dennis O'Leary elected to American Academy of Arts & Sciences

Joseph Ecker

Professors Joseph Ecker and Dennis O'Leary have received the prestigious honor of being elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS) class of 2015. AAAS is one of the nation’s most prominent honorary societies. There are 197 accomplished leaders from academia, business, public affairs, the humanities and the arts accepted to this year’s class. Its members include winners of the Nobel Prize and Pulitzer Prize; MacArthur and Guggenheim Fellowships; and Grammy, Emmy, Oscar and Tony awards. Ecker and O’Leary bring the number of Salk scientists elected as members of AAAS to 16. The new class will officially be inducted during a ceremony in October.

Dennis O’Leary

Ecker is a professor in Salk’s Plant Biology Laboratory and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute and Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation investigator. He has made many distinguished contributions to the fields of genomes/epigenomes of plant and human cells, particularly for the development of new tools that enable genome-wide analyses. He also holds the Salk International Council Chair in Genetics.

O’Leary, a professor in Salk’s Molecular Neurobiology Laboratory, holds the Vincent J. Coates Chair in Molecular Neurobiology. O’Leary tackles questions about brain development in order to better understand the genes and molecules which not only help neurons form and find their place in a developing brain, but also play key roles in neural function and health throughout life.