Academic Council

Salk Institute for Biological Studies - Leadership - Academic Council

Academic Council

The Academic Council, as the representative of the faculty, formulates academic policies of the Salk Institute. The Council deliberates in consultation with the president, and its recommendations are subject to periodic review by the voting faculty. Matters of academic policy include academic programs, academic appointments and promotions and use of the Institute’s research space.

Presently, the Academic Council consists of seven members from the ranks of professor and three members from the ranks of the associate and assistant professors, all of whom are elected by the voting faculty. The chair of the faculty is also the chair of the Academic Council and is elected to serve a one-year term.

The Academic Council establishes the academic Appointments Committee and establishes as many other faculty committees as it deems necessary for formulating and implementing academic policy. The membership of the faculty committees is approved by the president. The past chair, current chair and chair-elect also serve on the Board of Trustees of the Salk Institute.


Ed Callaway

Systems Neurobiology Laboratories
Audrey Geisel Chair in Biomedical Science

Alan Saghatelian

Clayton Foundations Laboratories for Peptide Biology
Dr. Frederik Paulsen Chair

Beverly M. Emerson

Regulatory Biology Laboratory
Edwin K. Hunter Chair

Nicola Allen

Assistant Professor
Molecular Neurobiology Laboratory
Hearst Foundation Development Chair

Sreekanth Chalasani

Associate Professor
Molecular Neurobiology Laboratory

Joseph R. Ecker

Plant Molecular and Cellular Biology Laboratory
Howard Hughes Medical Institute and Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation Investigator
Salk International Council Chair in Genetics

Julie A. Law

Assistant Professor
Plant Molecular and Cellular Biology Laboratory
Hearst Foundation Development Chair

Samuel Pfaff

Gene Expression Laboratory
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator
Benjamin H. Lewis Chair

John H. Reynolds

Systems Neurobiology Laboratory
Fiona and Sanjay Jha Chair in Neuroscience

Martin Hetzer

(ex officio)
Chief Science Officer and Professor
Molecular and Cell Biology Laboratory
Jesse and Caryl Philips Foundation Chair

Connect With Us